Skip to content

Keyport Unified Planning Board

The Borough of Keyport Unified Planning, established in accordance with the requirements of N.J.S.A. 40:55D-23 and the provisions of Borough Code §2-7.3 and §25-3-7, consists of the following classes of nine (9) members and two (2) alternate members:

Class I. The Mayor, or the Mayor's designee;

Class II. An official of the municipality, other than a member of the governing body, appointed by the Mayor for a term of one (1) year;

Class III. A member of the governing body appointed by it for a term of one (1) year;

Class IV. Six other citizens of the municipality appointed by the Mayor for terms of four (4) years, including a member of the Environmental Commission in accordance with the requirement of N.J.S.A. 40:56-1;

Two (2) alternate members, appointed by the Mayor for 2-year terms.

Residents interested in serving as a volunteer member of a Borough of Keyport board, commission or committee should submit a completed Volunteer Application/Citizen Leadership form to the Borough Clerk.


 Agendas, Meeting Minutes, Resolutions

Listing files in 'Meeting Agendas, Minutes, Resolutions'

Pending & Completed Application Documents

Listing files in 'Planning Board - Pending & Completed Applications'


Planning Board Land Use Development
Application Forms

The following documents are needed to apply to the Planning Board:
Copy of the full application on a Thumb Drive or a PDF should be emailed to  (should include any site plans or designs)

Listing files in 'Planning Board forms'


Master Plan Documents

Listing files in 'Keyport Master Plan Reports'

Place SIDEBAR content below.
Don't worry, this instructional message will not be visible to site visitors.

Planning Board Secretary
Denise Nellis
P.O. Box 60
70 West Front Street
Keyport, NJ 07735

Phone: 732-739-5123
Fax: 732-739-8738


Class I Member:
  Mayor Rose P. Araneo

Class II Member:
  Nicholas Vecchio

Class III Member:
  Councilmember Ron Peperoni

Class IV Members:
Joseph Merla, Chairman
Harry M. Aumack IIVice Chairman 
William McDermott
Juan Carlos Oviedo
Donald J. Pacheco
Mark Sessa

Alternate Members:

Chris Demarest, Alternate No. 1
  Jacqueline Kovacs, Alternate No. 2

Planning Board Attorney
Marc Leckstein, Esq.
  Leckstein & Leckstein

Planning Board Engineer
Trevor Taylor
CME Associates

Planning Board Planner
Malvika Apte
CME Associates

Meeting Schedule - 2024

Planning Board meetings will be held in the Borough Hall at 7:00 p.m. on the following dates: 

January 25, 2024
February 22, 2024
March 28, 2024
April 25, 2024
April 30, 2024 
May 23, 2024
May 30, 2024 (this meeting was listed in error, there is no meeting on this date).
June 27, 2024
July 25, 2024
July 30, 2024
August  22, 2024
September 26, 2024
October 24, 2024
October 29, 2024
November 7, 2024
December 5, 2024

Re-Organization Meeting - 2025
January 23, 2025